Mark Bahr Award

In Recognition of Excellence

Every year, educators from Lutheran settings nominate their colleagues for special recognition. These are educators who are:

  • Active both in the local as well as the Lutheran community
  • Have a strong, demonstrated commitment to serve Jesus
  • Have shown a commitment to excellence in meeting the social, emotional, spiritual, and cognitive needs of children, youth, adults, and/or families


2023 Award Nominations Are Closed

Nominations are closed for this year's awards. Look for this year's awards to be announced in February and March 2023


Awards Criteria

LEA is honored to announce the 2022 Award recipients.

Christus Magister

Mark Bahr

Lutheran High School Association of Greater Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI

Distinguished Lutheran Elementary Administrator

Donna Laughlin

Immanuel Lutheran School

Batavia, IL

Distinguished Lutheran Early Childhood Administrator

Heidi Rains

Mount Olive Lutheran School

Des Moines, IA

Distinguished Lutheran Early Childhood Teacher

Anne Shearier

Forest Hills Lutheran Christian School

Cornelius, OR

Distinguished Lutheran Elementary Teacher

Julie Weil

Zion Lutheran School

Georgetown, TX

Distinguished Lutheran Middle School Teacher

Daniel Sterling

St. Paul’s Lutheran School

Des Peres, MO

Distinguished Lutheran Secondary Educator

Mark Klitzing

Orange Lutheran High School

Orange, CA

Outstanding New Lutheran Early Childhood Teacher

Michaela Wilaby

Pilgrim Lutheran School

Green Bay, WI

Outstanding New Lutheran Elementary Teacher

Maeson Lovie

Christ Greenfield Lutheran School

Gilbert, AZ

Distinguished Retired Lutheran Educator

Richard Cohrs

Lutheran Administrator

St. Charles, MO